Found boxcars in my caboose folder

Help installing 3rd party addons.

Found boxcars in my caboose folder

Postby Bob Artim » Sun Apr 04, 2010 9:39 am

Well this has been bugging me for a while as I found these boxcars in my caboose folder. They are the brown autoparts boxcars, one plain and one UP. So I started exploring the addons I have installed. All the free routes I installed except the P&O had the exe installer, which also comes with the complete folder structure of the addons. This makes no sense to me but I assume it is something from the Rail SIMULATOR days. It is like you get a double copy of everything. Anyway I installed the Tennessee Pass beta route and it is the culprit. In it's asset pak are the boxcars in the caboose folder. Further investigation states the route will crash if they are not there.

So to the scenario writers I suggest you do not use those two boxcars but use the real deafult ones. If someone doesnt have the Tenn. Pass installed they will not have them.
Expect me when you see me
Bob Artim
333

Who doesn't have dog, hunts with cat!

Just as sure as gravity, you can't escape this law.
There is only one way to stand, too many ways to fall.
User avatar
Bob Artim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4768
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 1:40 am
Location: Beaver, PA

Re: Found boxcars in my caboose folder

Postby Jim Moeller » Sun Apr 04, 2010 11:06 am

Ok...I'd love to see an explanation from them as to why they chose to do it that way. Sounds like the same logic that wrote our tax structure :roll:
Alienware X51 3.3 Ghz - NVidia GTX-640 1 GB - 6 GB RAM

HP 17" A8 Laptop - 2.2 Ghz - AMD video up to 3 GB - 6 GB RAM
User avatar
Jim Moeller
Master Scenario Tester
 
Posts: 2782
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 1:57 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY

Re: Found boxcars in my caboose folder

Postby Bob Artim » Sun Apr 04, 2010 11:11 am

I would have to say by accident, but then it was too late at they were used in the route somewhere when he realized what he had done. Lots and lots of files in these routes and RW lets you use things like rolling stock as scenery. The folder structure is huge, they are nested so deep you need a Marine search party to find stuff. I can see how you could make a simple mistake and not notice until too late.
Expect me when you see me
Bob Artim
333

Who doesn't have dog, hunts with cat!

Just as sure as gravity, you can't escape this law.
There is only one way to stand, too many ways to fall.
User avatar
Bob Artim
Site Admin
 
Posts: 4768
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 1:40 am
Location: Beaver, PA

Re: Found boxcars in my caboose folder

Postby Jim Moeller » Sun Apr 04, 2010 12:20 pm

I'll buy that...it is pretty complex, especially compared to the rinky-dink programs I used to write..not even the same universe. Thanks for the info.
Alienware X51 3.3 Ghz - NVidia GTX-640 1 GB - 6 GB RAM

HP 17" A8 Laptop - 2.2 Ghz - AMD video up to 3 GB - 6 GB RAM
User avatar
Jim Moeller
Master Scenario Tester
 
Posts: 2782
Joined: Sun Feb 28, 2010 1:57 pm
Location: Syracuse, NY


Return to Installing addons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron